About Us

The Iowa Lottery Board

Learn more about the Iowa Lottery Board and its members.

The Iowa Lottery Board is made up of five Iowa citizens appointed by the governor, and the State Treasurer serves as an ex-officio member of the board. The board oversees the lottery and its operations. Each department at the lottery formally reports to the board at meetings held throughout the year. According to Iowa Code, the Lottery Board must have a member with an accounting background, a member with experience in marketing, a member with law enforcement experience and another member who has or is currently practicing law. No more than three board members can be of the same political party.

For information about board meetings and related meeting materials click here.

Current Lottery Board Members

Herman Richter Board Chairperson Herman Richter joined the Lottery Board in 2011. He is president of The Three Sons clothing store in Milford, where he also resides. Matt McDermott Board Vice Chairperson Matthew McDermott joined the Lottery Board in 2012. He is a shareholder at Belin McCormick, P.C., in Des Moines and resides in West Des Moines.
Deb Burnight Deb Burnight joined the Lottery Board in 2011. She is the President and CEO of Burnight Facilitated Resources and lives in Sioux City. Mike Klappholz Mike Klappholz joined the Lottery Board in 2006. He is retired from serving as chief of police in Cedar Rapids and lives in Marion.
Michael L. Fitzgerald Michael L. Fitzgerald has been a part of the Lottery Board since 2003. He is Iowa's State Treasurer. He lives in Waukee. Ying Sa Ying Sa joined the Lottery Board in 2014. She is the founder and Principal Certified Public Accountant at Community CPA & Associates Inc. in Des Moines, where she also resides.

Return to top↑