Press Room

Cedar Rapids Residents Continue Lottery Leadership

Mary Junge Re-Appointed To Lottery Board, Mike Klappholz Is Board Chair

DES MOINES, Iowa - Cedar Rapids residents continue to have a significant role in oversight of the Iowa Lottery. Mary Junge, a Cedar Rapids businesswoman, has been re-appointed to the Iowa Lottery Board while retired Cedar Rapids police chief Mike Klappholz serves as Board chair.

Junge, who has served on the Board since 1999, was appointed to another term this month by Governor Chet Culver. Klappholz has served on the Board since 2006.

Junge is a CPA and practicing tax and estate-planning attorney. Klappholz was chief of police in Cedar Rapids from March 1999 until his retirement in March 2008. He had been a police officer there since 1974.

Members of the Iowa Lottery Board establish policies and rules for the lottery's operation, approve its budget, and along with Lottery CEO Terry Rich approve lottery contracts. Each department at the lottery reports to the Board at meetings held throughout the year.

According to Iowa Code, the Lottery Board must include as members an attorney admitted to the practice of law in Iowa; an accountant; a person who is or has been a law enforcement officer; and a person having expertise in marketing. Iowa law also specifies that the Board must meet at least quarterly.

The other voting members of the Lottery Board are: former Secretary of State Elaine Baxter of Burlington; Tom Rial, a Des Moines marketing consultant; and Brad Schroeder, an attorney whose law practice is based in Des Moines. State Treasurer Michael Fitzgerald is a nonvoting member of the lottery board.