Press Room

Residents of Cedar Rapids, Sioux City, Milford Confirmed To Iowa Lottery Board

Nominations Of Deb Burnight, Mary Junge, Herman Richter Receive Senate Confirmation

DES MOINES, Iowa - Business leaders from Cedar Rapids, Sioux City and Milford will provide oversight of the Iowa Lottery as members of its Board of Directors.

The Iowa Senate has confirmed the appointment to the Lottery Board of Deb Burnight of Sioux City, Mary Junge of Cedar Rapids and Herman Richter of Milford.

Junge, a CPA and practicing tax and estate-planning attorney, has served on the board since 1999 and was re-appointed after the close of the 2010 legislative session, so her membership required confirmation this year. The Iowa Senate voted to confirm her appointment on March 9 and her term runs until April 30, 2014.

Burnight and Richter were nominated to the board last month by Gov. Terry E. Branstad. The Senate voted March 22 to confirm Richter's appointment while Burnight's appointment was confirmed March 29. Their terms begin May 1 and run until April 30, 2015.

Burnight, who is president and CEO of Burnight Facilitated Resources in Sioux City, is a certified professional facilitator and trainer. She is a graduate of the University of Iowa and a former elementary and middle school teacher. She will serve as a general citizen member of the board.

Richter is president of The Three Sons clothing store in Milford and also is a co-founder of the popular and mythical University of Okoboji. He is a graduate of Estherville Junior College and notes that his education at the University of Okoboji is "continuing." Richter will fulfill the marketing-expertise requirement on the board.

Members of the lottery board establish policies and rules for the lottery's operation, approve its budget, and along with Iowa Lottery CEO Terry Rich, approve lottery contracts. Each department at the lottery reports to the board at meetings held throughout the year.

State law specifies that the lottery board must meet at least quarterly and have as members an attorney admitted to practice law in Iowa; an accountant; a person who is or has been a law enforcement officer; and a person with expertise in marketing.

In addition to Junge, the other current members of the lottery board are: Tom Rial, a Des Moines marketing consultant; former Secretary of State Elaine Baxter of Burlington; Mike Klappholz of Cedar Rapids, a retired police chief; and Brad Schroeder of Pleasant Hill, an attorney whose law practice is based in Des Moines. State Treasurer Michael Fitzgerald also serves on the board as a nonvoting member.

Burnight will replace Baxter on the board while Richter will replace Rial.