Press Room

Pleasant Hill Man Elected To Lead Iowa Lottery Board

Brad Schroeder Chairs Board, Mary Junge Serves As Vice Chair

DES MOINES, Iowa - A Pleasant Hill attorney has been elected to chair the Iowa Lottery Board, the group that along with the chief executive officer oversees the state lottery.

Brad Schroeder was elected by his fellow Board members to lead the Lottery Board for the next year. Schroeder, a lawyer whose practice is based in Des Moines, has served on the Lottery Board since 2008.

Members of the Iowa Lottery Board establish policies and rules for the lottery's operation, approve its budget, and along with Lottery CEO Terry Rich approve lottery contracts. Each department at the lottery reports to the Board at meetings held throughout the year.

Schroeder was elected Board chair during the panel's meeting Sept. 29 in Des Moines. Mary Junge, a tax and estate-planning lawyer from Cedar Rapids, was elected as the Board's vice chair.

According to Iowa Code, the Lottery Board must include as members an attorney admitted to the practice of law in Iowa; an accountant; a person who is or has been a law enforcement officer; and a person having expertise in marketing. Iowa law also specifies that the Board must meet at least quarterly.

The other voting members of the Lottery Board are: Mike Klappholz of Cedar Rapids, a retired police chief; Deb Burnight, a certified professional facilitator and trainer from Sioux City; and Herman Richter, president of The Three Sons clothing store in Milford and co-founder of the popular and mythical University of Okoboji. State Treasurer Michael Fitzgerald is a nonvoting member of the Board.