About Us

Iowa Lottery CEO & Lottery Board

Learn more about the Iowa Lottery CEO Matt Strawn and our Lottery Board.

Iowa Lottery CEO Matt Strawn

Iowa Lottery Matt StawnMatt Strawn has served as CEO of the Iowa Lottery since January 2019. He is an Iowa native and business entrepreneur who takes great pride in leading an Iowa organization that is making a difference in his home state.

Matt's career in public service and private enterprise includes serving as a senior congressional advisor, helping bring to Des Moines and leading a minor league professional sports franchise, and co-founding a successful regional public affairs firm. He was raised on his family's farm in Benton County before graduating from the University of Iowa in 1996 and earning his law degree in 2003 from the Columbus School of Law at the Catholic University of America.

The Iowa Lottery Board

The Iowa Lottery Board is made up of five Iowa citizens appointed by the governor, and the State Treasurer serves as an ex-officio member of the board. The board oversees the lottery and its operations. Each department at the lottery formally reports to the board at meetings held throughout the year. According to Iowa Code, the Lottery Board must have a member with an accounting background, a member with experience in marketing, a member with law enforcement experience and another member who has or is currently practicing law. No more than three board members can be of the same political party.

For information about board meetings and related meeting materials click here.

Current Lottery Board Members

Josh Cook Josh Cook of Ankeny joined the Lottery Board in 2019. He is the president and CEO of the Johnston-based Community Choice Credit Union. Mary Junge Mary Junge served on the Lottery Board from 1999 to 2014 and was re-appointed in 2016. She is a certified public accountant and practicing tax attorney who resides in Cedar Rapids.
Katie New Katie New joined the Lottery Board in 2022. She is senior tax manager at BerganKDV in Urbandale and lives in Indianola. Mary Rathje Mary Rathje joined the Lottery Board in 2015. She is the office manager and controller at Rathje Construction Co. in Marion, where she also resides.
Dana Wingert Dana Wingert joined the Lottery Board in 2022. He is the chief of police in Des Moines, where he also resides. Michael Fitzgerald State Treasurer Michael L. Fitzgerald has served as an ex officio member of the Lottery Board since 2003. He lives in Waukee.

Return to top↑